New York

New York START logo

Certified START Program

NY START Region 1, Region 3, Region 4 Richmond Kings, Region 4 Triborough, and Region 5 are Certified START Programs

Contact Information

Region Counties Served Contact
Region 1

Finger Lakes: Chemung, Livingston, Monroe, Ontario, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Wayne, Wyoming, Yates

Arc of Chemung NYSTART

Region 2

A START program is currently in development in this service region

Region 3

Capital District: Albany, Fulton, Montgomery, Rensselaer, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Warren, Washington
Hudson Valley: Orange, Rockland, Sullivan, Westchester
Taconic: Columbia, Dutchess, Greene, Putnam, Ulster


Region 4 Triborough (Metro) Region: Bronx, Manhattan, Queens 



Region 4 Kings (Brooklyn) and Richmond (Staten Island) 



Region 5 Long Island: Nassau, Suffolk


(516) 870-1647


NYSTART/CSIDD offers crisis prevention and response services to people who have both developmental disabilities and complex behavioral needs, as well as to their families and those who provide supports. Services are available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to OPWDD eligible individuals age 6 and over who meet CSIDD eligibility. The goal of the program is to build relationships and supports across service systems to help people remain in their homes and communities and enhance the ability of the community to support them.  

CSIDD Teams provide the following services:

  • Community partnerships and systems linkages
  • Systemic and clinical consultation and training
  • Community training and education
  • Clinical Education Team training meetings
  • Cross Systems Crisis Prevention and Intervention Planning
  • Mobile crisis support and response for individuals enrolled in CSIDD services
  • Outreach and follow up; and
  • Comprehensive Service Evaluation

All CSIDD Teams are certified by the Center for START services. Referrals can be made by people seeking services, families, service providers, hospitals, psychiatric centers and other crisis services.  Referrals can be made by, but are not limited to, individuals, families, service providers, hospitals, psychiatric centers and other crisis services.