Virtual 2022 START National Training Institute

Theme: "The Pursuit of Happiness"

 

The 2022 Virtual SNTI took place on Monday May 2nd, Tuesday May 3rd, and Wednesday May 4th, 2022. Thank you to all who participated in another excellent virtual SNTI.

Certificate of Completion with UNH CEUs

Overall Learning Objectives:

  1. Describe how inclusion of therapeutic strategies to support the pursuit of happiness is essential to overall emotional well-being for people with IDD-MH, their families, and their system of support

  2. Identify at least three (3) resources found within research, policy, and practice that promote happiness in the lives of people with IDD-MH and their families

  3. Utilize at least three (3) strategies to foster happiness for people with IDD-MH and their families

2022 SNTI Program Schedule

Monday May 2, 2022

The program begins at 11:45am ET / 10:45am CT / 9:45am MT / 8:45am PT

Time Session

11:45am – 12:30pm ET

8:45am - 9:30am PT

Opening Remarks
with Kelly Nye-Lengerman, PhD, MSW, Director of the UNH Institute on Disability/UCED

Opening Remarks & Gardner Awards
with Joan B. Beasley, PhD, Director of Center for START Services

12:30pm – 1:10pm ET

9:30am - 10:10am PT

Keynote: Search Within for Happiness
Nirbhay Singh, PhD

1:10pm - 2:00pm ET

10:10am - 11:00am PT

Plenary Presentation: The Science of Hope—The Practice of Happiness
Dan Tomasulo, PhD

2:00pm – 2:15pm ET

11:00am - 11:15am PT

15 minute break
Transition to breakout rooms (separate Zoom links provided)

2:15pm – 3:30pm ET

11:15am - 12:30pm PT

Strength-Based Approaches & Community Inclusion Psychiatry & Integrated Health Cross-Systems Crisis Intervention Leadership Workshop – invitation only

Building Our Personal Strength from the Inside Out

Nirbhay Singh, PhD

Culturally Competent Prescribing & Treatment

Emaya Anbalagan, MD;
Roberto Blanco, MD;
I. Leslie Rubin, MD

Role of Research & Evaluation in the Examination of START Crisis Prevention & Intervention Methods

Joan B. Beasley, PhD;
Luke Kalb, PhD;
Jessica Kramer, PhD;
Ann Klein, MA

What's Getting in Your Way? Leadership to Advance and Sustain Cultural and Linguistic Competence – Part 1

Tawara Goode, MA

3:30pm – 3:45pm ET

12:30pm - 12:45pm PT

15-minute break

Rejoin Plenary

3:45pm – 5:00pm ET

12:45pm - 2:00pm PT

Research Poster Session 1

Tuesday May 3, 2022

The program begins at 12:00pm ET / 11:00am CT / 10:00am MT / 9:00am PT with an optional breakfast session at 11:00am ET / 10:00am CT / 9:00am MT / 8:00am PT

11:00am – 12:00pm ET

8:00am - 9:00am PT

Breakfast/Brunch Session (Optional)
Strength-spotting with Dan Tomasulo, PhD, Andrea Szucs, LMSW, RDT-BCT, and Kristal Garcia, LMSW

12:00pm – 12:10pm ET

9:00am - 9:10am PT

Tuesday Welcome

12:10pm – 1:10pm ET

9:10am - 10:10am PT

Keynote
The Importance of Including People with Lived Experience of IDD-MH in Research with Melanie Hecker, MPA

1:10pm - 2:30pm ET

10:10am - 11:30am PT

The START Research Panel Presentation
Andrea Caoili, LCSW; Ann Klein, MA; Luke Kalb, PhD; Jennifer McLaren, MD;
Joan B. Beasley, PhD; Melanie Hecker, MPA

2:30pm – 2:45pm ET

11:30am - 11:45am PT

15-minute break
Transition to breakout rooms (separate Zoom links provided)

2:45pm – 4:00pm ET

11:45am - 1:00pm PT

 

Strength-Based Approaches & Community Inclusion

Psychiatry & Integrated Health

Cross-Systems Crisis Intervention

Leadership Workshop – invitation only

Positive-Interactive-Behavioral Therapy (P-IBT): Positive Group Psychotherapy for Individuals with Intellectual and Psychiatric Disabilities

Dan Tomasulo, PhD

Psychiatric Treatment Considerations from an Integrated Health Perspective

Moderator:
Jill Hinton, PhD

Panelists:
Michael Cummings, MD;
Janel Van Cleve, MS,
Jennifer. McLaren, MD;
Ingrid. Dombrower, MD;
Jenee Lewis-Walker, PsyD.

A Cross-Systems Approach to Mental Health Coaching

Presenters:
Andrea Caoili, LCSW;
Anne LaForce, MA, LPC

Respondent: Dan Baker, PhD

What's Getting in Your Way? Leadership to Advance and Sustain Cultural and Linguistic Competence –
Part 2

Tawara Goode, MA

4:00pm – 4:15pm ET

1:00pm - 1:15pm PT

15-minute break
Rejoin Plenary

4:15pm – 5:30pm ET

1:15pm - 2:30pm PT

Research Poster Session 2

 

Wednesday May 4, 2022

The program begins at 12:00pm ET / 11:00am CT / 10:00am MT / 9:00am PT 

12:00pm – 12:10pm ET

9:00am - 9:10am PT

Wednesday Welcome

12:10pm – 1:10pm ET

9:10am - 10:10am PT

Plenary Presentation
Practices to Promote Joy : The Power of Positive Emotions and Role-Play with Andrea Szucs, LMSW, RDT-BCT

1:10pm - 1:15pm ET

10:10am - 10:15am PT

5-minute break

1:15pm - 2:15pm ET

10:15am - 11:15am PT

PCORI Telehealth Panel Presentation

Evaluation of telehealth services on mental health outcomes for people with intellectual and developmental disabilities

Andrea Caoili, LCSW; Elizabeth Grosso, MSW, Jessica Kramer, PhD; Joan B. Beasley, PhD; Luke Kalb, PhD; Melanie Hecker, MPA; Tawara D. Goode, MA

START programs in NH, NC, TX, Iowa, and NY are strongly encouraged to attend

2:15pm - 2:20pm ET

11:15am - 11:20am PT

5-minute break

2:20pm – 4:00pm ET

11:20am - 1:00pm PT

Awards Ceremony (including Research Poster Awards)

4:00pm - 4:30pm ET

1:00pm - 1:30pm PT

Closing Remarks